Are you FURreeeal?

Are you FURreeeal?

See what I did there? haha! Ok. This is a topic that is particularly controversial in the fashion industry, and everyone has their own opinions on the ethical use of fur in fashion, whilst there are many against, there are just as many for, claiming that fur farms create jobs, they’re just killing off what would occur naturally in nature… and we can all gather the reasons why people are against it. Some strict vegetarian designers will not even touch fur in their collection (Stella McCartney is my favourite) but this image comes from the Fendi Pre-Fall-Winter 2013-2014 collection. What are your thoughts? I personal don’t like the look of fur, real or faux, I find it tacky and cavemanish.

4 thoughts on “Are you FURreeeal?

  1. I have many fur pieces in my wardrobe, but they are vintage pieces that are approx. 100 years old, so I feel like I am recycling what was around years ago rather than killing animals nowadays. However, most people own leather shoes, so is this really any different than killing for fur? I don’t have a very strong opinion on wearing fur either way, but people judge me for wearing real fur, and I would never harm an animal in my life. I think its a debate that will never end in the fashion industry!
    xoxox

    • Thank you for sharing your opinion. πŸ™‚

      I do not think there is any right or wrong answer here, I have read the pros and cons for the use of fur in the fashion industry, and whilst the style is not my own personal style I do not tend to judge people regardless of what they choose to wear. Fashion and style is an extension of our personalities and individual or society do not have the right to tell someone they cannot express themselves.

      Recycling is a great idea, I think that is truly a step forward in the industry, I also spend hours browsing through vintage and charity shops and it is one of my favourite past times πŸ™‚

      Many designers who are strict vegetarians, will not use leather or fur in their pieces, whilst others have seen a fur revival in their latest collections. I think it is just a case of personal opinion here, there will always be people who hate fur, and who love it.

      xx

Leave a Reply

